Reviews of ARTK12 Curriculum

We are discontinuing this page. Please see the list of ARTK12 reviews.

Kristin’s books are becoming more and more popular. Her map series is sold both on Amazon.com and The Rainbow Resource. Timberdoodle sells Draw the USA. See what people are saying below or read the numerous 4 and 5 star reviews on Amazon.com.


Family Style Schooling

Family Style Schooling Logo

July 12, 2017

“9 Excellent Resources for Drawing Geography by ARTK12”

Betsy over at Family Style Schooling has reviewed not one, not two, not three, but rather all nine of ARTK12’s geography books. Back in 2015 she reviewed Draw Africa and now she has reviewed the complete set. I think she may like these books.

Read the Full Family Style Schooling Review


Read Create Repeat Homeschool

January 13, 2017

Kristin’s book, Draw the USA is mentioned in this video. Click the play button below and it will start at the section where the book is mentioned.

Visit the Read Create Repeat Homeschool Youtube Channel


Schoolmarm Ohio
A Resource for Home Educators

January 30, 2017

“American Art History”

A review of American Art History, Second Semester

Homeschoolmarm Ohio (Lisa McAfee) is a licensed teacher, homeschooled her sons and has a blog of homeschool resources for parents. She also teaches World Geography at a two day, college prep homeschool program. The review begins with this:

As you begin to plan for next year’s curricula I wanted to share with you a series that I love! I think you will want to add this to your list of books to purchase.

Read Full Article: “American Art History”


Irina Shamolina
Blog About Family Education [translation]

January 3, 2017

This is a review from a Russian website about Draw Europe. I don’t read Russian, but I did do a translation via Google, which, I realize, is far from perfect…but here’s some of it:

Lovely simple book, very funny…

Drawing technique quite ingenious in its simplicity…

If you read Russian or if you know how to use the Google translator see the link below.

Full Article by Irina Shamolina


Schoolmarm Ohio
A Resource for Home Educators

January 9, 2017

“Geography Ideas”

This isn’t really a review…more just some nice comments about the Draw Map series and ways to use it. There are some photos and some other ideas for geography.

I had the opportunity this summer to see a book, Draw the USA, that your child can use for geography throughout the years. Using their artistic abilities, amazing maps can be created.

Read Full Article: “Geography Ideas”


Catholic Schoolhouse

January 27, 2016

Catholic Schoolhouse: Homeschool success through a Classical Approach

Catholic Schoolhouse likes Draw Europe! Annie-Ne writes:

Look how fun this is! Instructions are given to identify and draw the shapes of countries and borders that look like “a dinosaur head emerging from a blob” and “an unshelled peanut” and “Santa’s bag”. We draw just a few countries at a time. I am giddy! And the kids love it, too.

See the full blog post: “Geography Resources” >


Homegrown Adventures

August 19, 2016

Homegrown Adventures: Hands on Learning

Homegrown Adventures approached us a few months ago. She wanted a free Draw the USA book for an honest review on her website.

After trying out the book, she wrote:

There is an amazing book out there that will show you step-by-step how to draw each state. The best part is that with time and practice your child or you can have North America memorized and there will be no need to look at a book to draw the map. Now that’s what I call impressive.

She also has some nice photos showing Draw the USA in use and a video! See video below:

Thanks Homegrown Adventures for trying out the book!

Homegrown Adventures Full Review (scroll down the page) >

If you have an active blog you may be eligible for a free book for an honest review on your blog. Contact us at: info@artk12.com.


The Art of Simple

December 1, 2015

art-simple-logo

Tsh is an author and blogger. Her website, The Art of Simple, says:

The Art of Simple has been mentioned on Apartment Therapy, HGTV, Better Homes and Gardens, Food Network, CNBC, CNN, NPR, Parents magazine, Real Simple magazine, and more.

Impressive! She also has some nice things to say about Draw Europe in her post Gift ideas for the 2015 holiday season:

Sure, it’s learning, but it doesn’t feel like it because it’s a drawing book. Using this simple step-by-step drawing approach, you’ll memorize the European map and be able to sketch it from memory, too. Plus, it’s fun.

You can read the entire post here: Gift ideas for the 2015 holiday season or read more about Draw Europe.


Amongst Lovely Things

October 1, 2015

Amongst Lovely Things Logo

Sarah Mackenzie does a short video review of Draw Europe posted in her article “Scope #2: How We Homeschool – Morning Time.” Sarah is also author of the Book Teaching from Rest: A Homeschooler’s Guide to Unshakable Peace.

The review of my book begins at about 28:00 into the video. Here are some highlights:

Let me show you how great this is. When I saw the inside of this book I thought we have to use this, this looks so much fun.

With her lovely little language she tells you how to make sure it is at the right part of paper….like this: “This blob looks like Santa’s bag of gifts and will contain eight countries.” Like how great is that? That totally does look like Santa’s bag of gifts. So that’s really fun.

Watch the Video > on Sarah’s site or you can watch above (video automatically starts at the review).


Recipes for Family Life

September 11, 2015

Recipes for Family Living: four very cute children

Comments about my books Draw the USA, Draw Africa and Draw Europe.

On the Recipes for Family Life website Christy writes in her post “Resources for Drawing the World” (which also recommends many other drawing books besides mine):

Sources we have found EXTREMELY helpful for drawing maps in our home are the new DRAW books by Kristin J. Draeger.

My students’ map drawing has gone from 0 to 60 in 4 weeks or less. It also builds their confidence in their ability to draw continents and countries when they use these books.

Read Full Article >


Under the Sycamore

August 25, 2015

Under the Sycamore

Look what Ashley has done with my Draw Africa book!

Ashley from Under the Sycamore had a friend recommend my books. What I love about Ashley’s article, “taking on the globe {drawing africa}” is what she did with the Draw Africa book for her children. She took the book apart and put it in a notebook. Wow, that really tells the story doesn’t it? But you are in luck, Ashley is also a professional photographer (I wondered about that when I first saw her photos) and she has documented the entire process in the article. Have a look!

Read the Full Article >


Family Style Schooling

August 5, 2015

Family Style Homeschooling Logo

From the review: “So I’m in love with these geography drawing books. I heard about them recently, and couldn’t wait to get my hands on one. I started with the Draw Africa book because we’re focusing on that continent this year in Cycle 1 of Classical Conversations. I’ve loved them so much that I’ve added them to my resource list for Foundations and Challenge…I’m so excited to share this great resource…”

Read the full review »


Only Passionate Curiosity

October 25, 2014

Only Passionate Curiosity

From the review: “I’ll be totally honest with you here, and tell you that I haven’t totally been using this program as I had intended to when I first contacted ArtK12 about a review. Bug [her son] has hijacked the books completely, and instead of living on my curriculum shelf, they have been living on his desk. Because, what do you know, these books really are fun.”

Read the full review »


Pumpkin Patch

December 8, 2012

Aussie Pumpkin Patch

The reviewer at Curriculum Choice below, has some nice things to say about ARTK12 curriculum on her own site. See the first and last paragraph.

Visit the Pumpkin Patch »


Curriculum Choice
Making Homeschool Decisions Easy

December 6, 2012

Curriculum Choice Homeschool Review Blog

The Curriculum Choice’s reviewer used ARTK12’s materials with her two sons. The only thing she didn’t like? ARTK12 doesn’t have materials for World Art (that’s coming, by the way).

Read the Curriculum Choice Review »


7 Sisters Homeschool

November 8, 2012

7 Sisters Homeschool 7 Sisters has a lot of good things to say about ARTK12 curriculum. The reviewer (an adult) wasn’t thrilled with the humor….however, we think your students will think differently.

Read 7 Sisters Homeschool Review »


Want to Review ARTK12 Curriculum?

If you have an interest in reviewing ARTK12 curriculum and you have a website, blog or Facebook page where you can post the review, you may be eligible to receive free art history curriculum from ARTK12. Please contact us at info@artk12.com for more information.

No Comments You must have something to say!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *